Neil Young Finally Releases Acoustic "Homegrown" Album That Was Recorded & Shelved in 1975


AP 19146220532698
Photo by Amy Harris/Invision/AP

Neil Young is finally set to release his 1975 mostly acoustic album Homegrown on Friday, June 19, and he offered fans a chance to stream the entire project a couple of days early, Consequence of Sound reports. The album was focused on Young's failing relationship with actress Carrie Snodgress, and he said he was too emotional about it to release it then. “I apologize. This album Homegrown should have been there for you a couple of years after Harvest,” Young said. “It’s the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn’t listen to it." The album contains 12 tracks, some of which were later released like "Love Is A Rose” and “Star Of Bethlehem,” as well as six previously unreleased tracks.


The Full Tracklist for Neil Young's Homegrown:

  1. Separate Ways
  2. Try
  3. Mexico
  4. Love Is A Rose
  5. Homegrown
  6. Florida
  7. Kansas
  8. We Don’t Smoke It No More
  9. White Line
  10. Vacancy
  11. Little Wing
  12. Star of Bethlehem